h1

First SCBWI conference

September 23, 2004

September 2004 

My wife dropped me off in Arlington, I think it was the Hilton. The conference was almost over. I wasn’t able hear the editors speak. I didn’t have the money to do that. Still don’t. After the conference ended, I was able to meet three editors. That is when I became inspired to be a real picture book writer. It was thrilling to meet real editors, and to later speak with some real writers in the lobby.

With personal invites to send off manuscripts, Candlewick, Harper Collins, and Bloomsbury didn’t know what was about to hit them.

Any idea what happened?

Lesson Learned: Editors and writers are really cool people. I want to hang around them more often.

Back to blog/journal 

Leave a Reply

