h1

Of course they were personal

November 1, 2004

I think any time an author sends a conference speaker a manuscript, the responses are personal. Let me know if I’m wrong. I was excited to get these rejections. I still love looking at them.

In the fall of 2004, I had only subbed 5 times ever. The first two came in 2002 and 2003. The next 3 were to the conference speakers I met in September. I didn’t sub again until January 2005.

Lesson Learned:  This lesson I’ve learned years later is that one of those first subs has some merit. I wasn’t rushing into submitting. That’s a good thing. The story subbed to Candlewick and Harper Collins was just requested for review by Dutton (Feb 2007).

Back to blog/journal

One comment

  1. Just wanted to let you know that yes, you can get a form on a submission from a conference speaker. I’ve gotten several!

    Yay for your personals!



Leave a Reply

