h1

June 2007 – submissions

July 9, 2007

Hi y’all,

I am not doing what needs to be done. If I want to be a published picture book writer, I need to submit my pb manuscripts to editors. I haven’t been doing so. I sent out a bunch in late January or so, but since then, nothing. I cured that June 29th with sending off mss to 19 publishers. Again, I stress these are well targeted submissions. I think there was a total of 8 mss which I send off simultaneously. A few were queries and others were unsolicited subs. I also sent a requested ms to Dutton and a revision request of Buck-a-Bye Baby to Putnam. It was requested back in March and has gone through three re-writes.

I currently have 39 subs out to 34 publishers and 1 agent. I have been very lax in writing and subbing the past few months because I’ve been working on Purple Ducks, a memoirish type book which explains some Chrisitan concepts, especially our need to belong. I have about 210 pages finished in it. I’m really frustrated with it because I have so many doubts about this foray into adult writing. I know I can write picture books. I write some outstanding ones, but as for my adult type writing, I’m not clueless, but I just don’t know how to make it all work together. I sometimes think I just have 30 or so essays that are not so brilliantly connected to one another. If something good doesn’t happen with Purple Ducks,  I’ll feel I’ve wasted some good picture book writing time. Oh well. May God bless my Purple Ducks. Please.

Brian

back to blog/journal

Leave a Reply

